2020 Hippocrates Prize Anthology

The 2020 Hippocrates Prize Anthology

Publication date: Friday 15 May 2020

Selected by judges Roland Jackson, Geoffrey Lehmann, Lawrence Sail and Professor John Stein. Ed. MW Hulse and DRJ Singer. 

The Hippocrates Press.   £10  ISBN 978-0-9935911-7-4

The 48 poems in the 2020 Hippocrates Prize Anthology of Open International, NHS and Young Entries were selected by judges for the 2020 FPM-Hippocrates international Open Prize and FPM-Hippocrates Health Professional Prize
Judges for the 2020 Hippocrates Awards are Sir Roland Jackson Bt, Visiting Fellow of the Royal Institution and former Head of Museum at the Science Museum, 
Geoffrey Lehmann, the first Australian poet to be published by Faber and Faber, poet Lawrence Sail, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and former Director of the Arvon Foundation and the Cheltenham Literary Festival, and John Stein, Oxford Professor of Physiology and Chair of the Dyslexia Research Trust. Sir Roland Jackson, Geoffrey Lehmann and Professor John Stein will judge the 2020 FPM-Hippocrates Open and Health Professional Awards. Lawrence Sail will judge the 2020 Hippocrates Young Poets’ Prize for Poetry and Medicine.
Lawrence Sail selected the poems for the Hippocrates Young Poet’s Award. Lawrence Sail is a freelance writer and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.  In addition to thirteen books of poems, he has published two books of essays and a memoir of childhood, 
Sift (Impress Books 2010).  He has also edited a number of anthologies, including First and Always (Faber 1988), which raised more than £65,000 for the Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children.  He has been chairman of the Arvon Foundation and director of the Cheltenham Festival of Literature.
The anthology was edited by Hippocrates Initiative co-founders Michael Hulse and Donald Singer. 


The 2020 Hippocrates Anthology of winning and commended poems were launched on Friday 15th May after the online 11th annual Hippocrates Awards Ceremony.

onion © Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com