2014 Hippocrates Prize judges

2014-judges med

2014 Hippocrates judges Philip Gross, Robert Francis QC and Sarah Crown 

Members of the judging panel for the 2014 Open and NHS Hippocrates Prize are poet Philip Gross, a winner of the TS Eliot Prize, distinguished barrister Robert Francis QC, and Mumsnet Editor Sarah CrownThe 2014 Hippocrates Prize for Young Poets will be judged by poet Kit Wright.

Philip Gross 

Philip Gross’s The Water Table won the T.S.Eliot Prize 2009, I Spy Pinhole Eye Wales Book of The Year 2010, and Off Road To Everywhere the CLPE Award for Children’s Poetry 2011. Deep Field (2011) deals with voice and language, explored through his father’s aphasia, and a new collection, Later, is due from Bloodaxe in Autumn 2013. He has published ten novels for young people, including The Lastling, has collaborated with artists, musicians and dancersand since 2004 has been Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University, where he leads the Masters in Writing programme. [Photo by Stephen Morris]

Robert Francis QC

Robert Francis QC is a distinguished barrister who specialises in the NHS and medical negligence. He has been a Queen's Counsel for 21 of his 40 years at the bar. He has been involved in many inquiries into the NHS, both as barrister and as chair, most recently chairing the inquiry into the Mid Staffordshire Hospital. According to Peter Walsh, chief executive of the patient safety charity Action against Medical Accidents, Robert Francis has a "passion for justice in healthcare and improving healthcare more generally". 

Sarah Crown

Sarah Crown is editor of http://www.mumsnet.com/. She was editor of the guardian.co.uk/books from 2007-2013. Previous poetry awards for which she has been a member of the judging panels include the Forward prizes and the Picador poetry prize.

Kit Wright

2014 judge kit-wright med-2

Kit Wright is the author of more than twenty-five books, for both adults and children, and the winner of awards including an Arts Council Writers' Award, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Hawthornden Prize, the Alice Hunt Bartlett Award and (jointly) the Heinemann Award. After a scholarship to Oxford, he worked as a lecturer in Canada, then returned to England and a position in the Poetry Society.  In June 2014, to mark his seventieth birthday, Kit Wright publishes a new collection of poems, Ode to Didcot Power Station, with Bloodaxe Books.


onion © Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com