Hippocrates Initiative

Screenshot 2021-11-24 at 13.46.54

Storm Brain: a book of medical essays and poetry on stroke and other disorders of the brain.

Click here to order a copy or copies of Storm Brain


The 2022 Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine

The Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine is an annual international award for an unpublished poem on a medical subject for poets from anywhere in the world. 

Judges for the 2022 Hippocrates Prize Open and Health Professional awards include American poet Jeffrey Harrison and British medical researcher Professor Peter Barnes FRS and American poet Ellen Hinsey as judge for the Young Poets’ Prize.

The Hippocrates Prize is in 3 categories, with entries in each category open to poets from anywhere in the world. Since its first awards in 2010, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted over 11,000 entries from around 70 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and Finland to Australasia. 

Click on the links below for details about how to enter the 2022 Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine.

2022 Hippocrates Open and Health Professional categories
In each category: 1st Prize £1000, 2nd Prize £500, 3rd Prize £250 and up to 20 commendations. 

2022 Hippocrates Young Poets’ Prize for Poetry and Medicine
Entries for this prize are free. The Young Poet Prize is for poets aged 14-18 years from anywhere in the world.  The Young Poet Prize is £500. Entries were received from 18 countries for the 2021 Hippocrates Prize Young Poet Prize.


Click here for links to all winning and commended poets in the 2021 Hippocrates Prize - for the Young Poets Award and the FPM-Hippocrates Health Professional and Open Awards.

Click here for the Press Release on the 2021 Hippocrates Prize

Screenshot 2021-05-19 at 12.05.56

Poets in the 2022 FPM-Hippocrates Health Professional and Open Awards

Awards were announced on 19th May by the judges at an online ceremony with readings by the short-listed and winning poets.  

Senior New York Times correspondent Anne Barnard, distinguished poets Keki Daruwalla and Anna Jackson and paediatrician Professor Neena Modi were the judges for the 2021 Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine. Ann Barnard, Keki Daruwalla and Professor Neena Modi will  judge the Open and Health Professional awards and Anna Jackson judge the Young Poets’ Prize for Poetry and Medicine.


The 2021 FPM-Hippocrates Open and FPM-Hippocrates Health Professional awards were supported by UK medical society the Fellowship of Postgraduate Medicine, which supports Medical Learning for Life through conferences, webinars and its two journals: the Postgraduate Medical Journal and Health Policy and Technology

The 2022 Hippocrates Young Poets Award is supported by Healthy Heart Charity the Cardiovascular Research Trust.



We have launched a series of monthly live webinars called Poems to live for.

See more here about Poems Live for and how to register and how to join the sessions.

We welcome suggestions for poems (out of copyright) you would like read. 

You may also email us with a link to a reading of a favourite poem, saying why you chose it (must not your own AND must be out of copyright). We can’t promise to use all readings or suggestions but we shall use as many as possible.


More on the Hippocrates Prize

2010-hippocrates-shortlisti med

onion © Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com