2013 Hippocrates Prize: Open, NHS and Young Poets

2013 Hippocrates Prize winners

2013 Hippocrates Prize for Young Poets

Short-listed poets

Commended poets

With a 1st prize for the winning poem in each category of £5,000, the Hippocrates Prize is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single poem. In its first 3 years, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted around 5000 entries from 55 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and Finland to Australasia.†

Awards are in an†Open category, which anyone in the world may enter, and an†NHS category, which is open to UK National Health Service employees, health students and those working in professional organisations involved in education and training of NHS students and staff.†

The judging panel†for the 2013 Hippocrates Prize comprises:†Jo Shapcott, winner of the 2011 Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry,†Theodore Dalrymple, doctor and writer, and†Roger Highfield, science writer and Executive for the Science Museums Group.†

See links for news of the†Hippocrates NHS Awards†and†Young Poets Award.

Harvard poet and physician Rafael Campo wins Hippocrates Open International Prize for Poetry and Medicine
Psychotherapist Mary V Williams wins Hippocrates NHS Prize for Poetry and Medicine
English poet Rosalind Jana awarded international Hippocrates Young Poets Prize for Poetry and Medicine†

Read more about the 2013 Hippocrates Young Poets winner Rosalind Jana, judged by poet Clare Pollard.

†© Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com