Hippocrates Prize

-  2013 Hippocrates Awards for Poetry and Medicine

-  2013 Hippocrates Prize commended poets and poems

The Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine is an annual international award for an unpublished poem on a medical subject. With a 1st prize for the winning poem in both the Open International and the NHS category of £5,000, the Hippocrates prize is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single poem.

Since its launch in 2009, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted over 5000 entries from 55 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and Finland to Australasia.

Awards are in 3 categories: 

- an Open category, which anyone in the world may enter; 

- an NHS category, which is open to UK National Health Service employees, health students and those working in professional organisations involved in education and training of NHS students and staff.

- a category for young poets aged 14 - 18 years See more on the Prize for Young Poets.

Open International Awards

1st Prize - £5000; 2nd Prize - £1000; 3rd Prize - £500

20 Commendations - £50

NHS category Awards

1st Prize - £5000; 2nd Prize - £1000; 3rd Prize - £500

20 Commendations - £50

2013 Hippocrates Prize for Young Poets

A new international Hippocrates Prize for Young Poets was launched in 2012 with a first prize of £500. 

Read about the 2013 Hippocrates Young Poets winner Rosalind Jana, judged by poet Clare Pollard.

 © Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com